Days 3 & 4 – Strength in Numbers

6 Jan

20120106-113101.jpg

Song of the Post – Runaway by Kanye

Day 3 already? This being vegan thing is a breeze!

…just kidding. It’s really tough, especially when your roommates constantly make delicious and tempting treats like chicken pot pie and chocolate chip cookies. Be strong, Lauren!

Luckily, I have pals to accompany me on this dietary journey. Ian (who also has a blog – youngandhellavegetarian.wordpress.com) and Monte have committed to being vegetarian for the month of January. So, naturally, we joined forces last night to create a healthy and tantalizing meal. I have about one hundred recipes bookmarked for my 6 week challenge, most which involve one of my favorite things – curry!

The chickpea curry was superb. We found out the hard way that brown rice takes ages to cook, but the end result was well worth it. Also, 1/2 cup of chickpeas has 7 grams of protein. Vegans and vegetarians: do not underestimate the power of garbanzo beans!

No matter what dietary restrictions I put on myself in the future, I will always return to this hearty curry recipe.

Best,

Lauren

Chickpea Curry

(As adapted from theveganstoner.blogspot.com)

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 1 bell pepper, sliced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups of plain soy yogurt
  • 1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 tablespoons curry power
  • 2 cups brown rice
  • 1/4 cups water

Start cooking the rice.

Toss chopped vegetables, chickpeas, garlic, yogurt and curry power in a pot. Heat on low-medium. When the mixture starts to look dry, add the water. Cook until vegetables are soft. Serve on top of rice.20120106-093746.jpg

Ian, myself and I anticipating the delicious meal!

20120106-094027.jpg

4 Responses to “Days 3 & 4 – Strength in Numbers”

  1. Young and Hella Vegetarian January 8, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    Your blog is way cool. Also, I really look like my landlord’s dog in that first picture.

  2. Sarah Bain January 8, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    Hahahaha, Ian. I love this blog and hope to return for lots of recipes.

  3. mollyferree January 8, 2012 at 11:14 pm #

    yumm…I can’t wait to try it!

  4. ebosman12 January 9, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    Your blog looks great! I can’t wait to try the recipes!

Leave a Reply

