Day 15 – Birthday Time!

22 Jan

20120121-091112.jpg

Song of the Post – Head over Heels by Tears for Fears

Hey y’all! Yesterday was my birthday, so obviously I didn’t cook anything! I did, however, eat some delicious Ethiopian food (vegetarian combo plate, yes please) and I’d like to share with you how excellent it was.

For my vegan-friendly birthday dinner Nikki suggested Queen of Sheba, and I was immediately on board!  If you haven’t tried Ethiopian, I highly recommend going for the food and the experience.  They serve each dish with injera bread, which looks kind of like a fluffy pancake.  Then, you scoop up bites of meat and veggies with pieces of the bread.  Who doesn’t love eating with their hands every once and a while?

Queen of Sheba, located in the Flour Mill near downtown Spokane.  This place is amazing!  Also, the wait staff is very helpful when deciding what to order.  Just tell them what you feel like having, beef, poultry or vegetables, and they’ll let you know which dishes to pick.

Here are a few fun photos from the evening.  Side note: best birthday ever!  We had a party, my friends’ band played and covered a Tears for Fears song for me.  YAY!

20120121-091158.jpg

20120121-091140.jpg

20120121-091125.jpg

Chocolate flower! Mmmmmm.

7 Responses to “Day 15 – Birthday Time!”

  1. rachelokelley January 22, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    I’ve heard such great things about that restaurant since coming to Spokane, but I’ve never made my way down there. The food looks delicious and I think I may need to put this on my places-to-go list!Thanks for the post!

  2. kthrift January 23, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    This restuarant looks amazing! I need to go here. Thanks for the post I have never heard of this place before but now I am dying to go!

    • mollyferree January 23, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

      Remember going to Ethiopian in DC! Perhaps finding this place would be a little less sketch lol

  3. Emily R January 23, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    Happy birthday! I’m so jealous! I wrote a story on Queen of Sheba for The Whitworthian last year but still haven’t taken the time to visit. Thanks for the cool photos.

  4. mollyferree January 23, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    Ohhh I want to go there! Do you know how much you’ve influenced my eating habits because of this blog? haha

  5. Quench the Thirst January 23, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    This place sounds great! I will have to check it out. What a great way to spend your birthday!

  6. Lalalacafe January 24, 2012 at 8:02 am #

    The food looks amazing! I love your pictures! I can’t wait to see more photos of your cooking.

Leave a Reply

